PDA

View Full Version : Refereeing question



up_the_clarets_1989
13-01-2014, 05:08 PM
Was having a debate at work today about what happens if you get sent off whilst being substituted, e.g. you get a second yellow card for time wasting whilst wandering over to be subbed. Would the replacement be able to come on or not? I thought no, but the guy at work reckons that if the fourth official has already put the board up and the sub is confirmed then the new man can still come onto the pitch.

ClaretTony2014
13-01-2014, 05:10 PM
"Would the replacement be able to come on or not?"

I would think that until the player being substituted has crossed over the line, at which point the new player is allowed to come on, that the substitution hasn't taken place.

up_the_clarets_1989
13-01-2014, 05:11 PM
Cheers Tony that's what I thought too. 1-0 to me tomorrow!

Claretsref
13-01-2014, 05:26 PM
The substitution is deemed to take place when the player going off leaves the field of play. If he commits an offence before he leaves the filed that warrants a red card he is dismissed and the sub sits down. That is why Assistants do there best to stop the sub entering the field of play coz it could cause mayhem

ClaretTony2014
13-01-2014, 05:47 PM
So we are right up_the_clarets_1989 :D