PDA

View Full Version : Whelan does it again

oldcolner
05-12-2014, 09:08 PM
New comments about calling Chinese restaurants chingalings in his day likely to haunt him. Seems he has foot in mouth disease - view external link (www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30353141)

DiBraidio
05-12-2014, 09:21 PM
This is bonkers.

When I was a student I lived in a house with a couple of black South African lads. One would turn to the other and say "Pass me a beer N*****" which I found really annoying because if I said the same thing I would be classed as a racist and could get kicked out of University if they complained.

Of course if I was Whelan and I told the story there would be headlines saying "Whelan calls black people N*****s".

He does however need to shut his mouth. Yes it was like that in the 70s but ffs stop digging that hole man or you're going to end up in Oz.

I've edited that because I was surprised that the N word isn't starred out I just assumed it would be because it's offensive.

bfcjg
05-12-2014, 09:25 PM
Silly white spook pillock, keep it shut old man.

oldcolner
05-12-2014, 09:29 PM
Many of us used words in the 50s and 60s that now offend someone, some people are offensive and some people are too easily offended.
It's difficult to get a balanced view these days. Easier to say nowt I suppose as you suggest.

daveisaclaret
05-12-2014, 09:34 PM
Isn't it also just easy not to use any racial epithets though?

DiBraidio
05-12-2014, 09:52 PM
davisaclaret. It is, and that's clearly what Whelan should do.

The problem is he's saying we used to say "x" to refer to "y" and the press are saying Whelan calls "y" "x".

He's in a no win situation. He just needs to stop apologising and let it drop.