+ Visit Nottingham Forest FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How will Forest fans treat their own betting against them

How will Forest fans treat their own betting against them

And then boasting about it in forums? Worse, predicting failure at the start of the season, like relegation and then advising people to bet on just that?

And after all that, still claim to be a loyal fan, a season ticket holder and will follow Forest to the ends of the world?

I have been betting for nearly 30 years. I have never bet against Forest before a game or season. I have bet on Forest to win, but while watching it, have sometimes decided hey it looks a loser, best to protect my investment by taking the other team. So if they lost or won, at least I can recover the bet amount. Still it is the defeat that rankles me.

I have in the last 15 years or so even stopped this practise. I will no longer bet against them, instead go for the total goals scenario to recoup the investment. Or bet on the start on the total goals (Asian Handicap). In this way I can watch a Forest match, still egging them on to score. Or as is most normal, I avoid betting games in which I have less or no conf

re: How will Forest fans treat their own betting against them

Quote Originally Posted by Romanis
    I don't know, maybe I'm naive, maybe I'm thick.

Naive? Probably.
    Thick? Definitely.

It's not a difficult concept to understand that betting on something doesn't mean you actually want it to happen. It seems it's a bit too difficult for you though.

To answer your question I would guess the more intelligent Forest fans would understand that it is entirely possible to bet against your own team yet still want them to win, the less intelligent ones would probably share your view.

Quote Originally Posted by Elite_Pie
    I don't know, maybe I'm naive, maybe I'm thick.

Naive? Probably.
    Thick? Definitely.