+ Visit Queen of the South FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An observation

An observation

Have we had a little extra in reserve to come back from behind since Skelton's ridiculously ( in my opinion) tiring warm ups stopped.

It does appear that way JRS.

Naysmith was saying that Queens had more energy than the Pars towards the end of the match on Saturday.

You know , the more I think about it , these 'severe' warm ups were serving no purpose at all. We were tiring at the end of games and losing late goals . What on earth was Skelton thinking about in doing this ? I now don't think we were not fit enough to compete , rather we were fit but wasting energy needlessly before the real action even started. Yes, I have no sports science background, only commenting on what I have witnessed week to week. What do you think ?
    Last edited by JRSLEFTPEG; 19-12-2016 at 09:15 PM.

Yes it is apparent that the Queens warm up session pre game is considerably less onerous than previous under Skelton. I think that this is particularly important at the moment as we are down to the bare bones with the squad and players are being used not fully fit or with niggles. It will be interesting the see what happens when Naysmith does have a full squad of experienced player to pick from to see if this changes.

Gary was also saying that he doesn't want to over-train the players and he appears to have a better idea on this than Gavin, having just given up playing whilst still being manager at East Fife.

It should be patently obvious that you don't over-train before a match, - and Skelton was merely continuing the type of training that was on offer from his predecessor.

In all sports, - you should organise your fitness regime so that you maximise output when it is most important. 45 minutes before the start of a match was insane, - and no wonder the players were dropping by the end of the 90!