+ Visit Barnsley FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: O/T European Union

O/T European Union

There is a lot of gloom about leaving the EU but there are another 7 countries waiting to join.Most of those are from Eastern Europe which are very poor countries.I could be wrong but the EU gives more aid to poor countries to bring them up to par with the rest of the union.This is very good but it ends up with the richer countries like us have to pay more money into The Brussels pot to help these poor countries which we can’t afford now and there are these other 7 in the waiting room.It also means there will be even more immigrants wanting to come here.Its ok these remain people wanting cheaper holidays in the EU but there is more than cheap holidays to think about.The EU have also talking about having there own armed forces which as an armed forces veteran I am totally against,I served under the white ensign and was proud to do so and my eldest son served 28 years in the Royal Navy so that makes at least two of us.When the UK signed up for Europe it was for trade only I can’t remember voting to give up our sovereignty to be ruled by unelected rulers.As I said “I could be wrong”

I find it hard to believe that the people living in the most economicaly deprived areas of England have fallen for the fantasies propagated by 46 of the richest extremist members of the Tory party who believe Brexit will return the UK into a world power selling goods we no longer produce protected by armed forces of a reasonable size we can no longer afford. We need to be part of the EU economically to compete with the US China and india in the future. According to the Governor of the Bank of England Brexit has so far cost each family in the UK £900. Post Brexit it will cost far more and the the most affected areas will be those who believed the right wing loons of the Tory party.