Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Anyone on here own a Brennan2 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536

    Anyone on here own a Brennan2 ?

    Or have any idea on the user guide ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    .

    dont own one Alto...though looks interesting - especially being it's Flac file compatible.

    user operating/guide.........Pdf: https://www.brennan.co.uk/imagprod/B...ingGuideV2.pdf

    about: https://www.thebrennan.com/itemconte...2specification

    is it working ok ?


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536
    Thanks Norder.

    I used to have the earlier model (JB7), I ripped all my CD's onto it (over 900), it took me nearly 2 Weeks, after doing that I found that the remote did not work, so me being me I just left it instead of ordering a new remote.

    Then I noticed Brennan brought out his 2T Brennan2, so I bought that one (again another 600), you only get a small manual guide with it (as with the previous one), but it said you needed a special lead to transfer music from your JB7 to the new B2, so I sent away for the lead, it came and it did not work, I have read the 2 links you posted and many more, it is very vague or I'm stupid (probably the latter).

    So I hand balled and ripped my whole CD Library again taking days to do so, they work perfectly and the sound is very good from the small machine and tiny speakers from the original JB7.

    The thing I am struggling with is I have a larger collection of music in my PC Library of over 1T, I have loaded a flash drive of 128G of this music from my PC and tried to import it from the flash drive onto the hard disc of the B2, It has appeared on my interface of the B2 on my PC but it will not let me play any music, my mate said it is still transferring from the flash to the hard disc on the B2 as the facia on the B2 is flashing fast with Artists, track names and Album titles from the flash drive, it has been doing this for nearly 2 days, surely it does not take this long ?

    Thanks again for the info Norder, you know I'm not technical and if you can help in laymen terms I would much appreciate it, my mate over the phone talks about it like he's reading from a book but its all gobbledygook to me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    .

    sounds like you've been through it - Alto - did you try phone/email Brennon....if that lead was supposed to do the trick but didn't, then they should have been able to help sort it - I see also that they direct you to a Brennon google Forum from their website....https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/brennanb2...could be worth a look...and the 128G file transfer taking two days - Much too long imo, perhaps there's a corrupt file, perhaps it's finished doing , and is just stuck on a loop, if it was me, i'd pull the plug....see whats there....but it's your puppy.

    good luck with it alto - and keep us updated.

    Cheers.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lancashire
    Posts
    32,066
    My sons are always saying "old people and new technology doesn't work"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    Quote Originally Posted by alfinyalcabo View Post
    My sons are always saying "old people and new technology doesn't work"
    or alf.... is that..."technology doesn't cut it - and older folk know it".


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536
    They are not wrong Alf, When we get a new TV I have to get Matron to tune the Channels in

    I will let the B2 roll on till tomorrow and let you know what happens.

    Been looking at this in the link Norder, you know more than me so I'm asking if it is any good when you get a few minutes to view it, I would appreciate your views.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lancashire
    Posts
    32,066
    Quote Originally Posted by Norder View Post
    or alf.... is that..."technology doesn't cut it - and older folk know it".

    Spot on Norder..lol

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    .

    Quote Originally Posted by Altobelli View Post
    Been looking at this in the link Norder, you know more than me so I'm asking if it is any good when you get a few minutes to view it, I would appreciate your views.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...&v=yNwB50bN0Do
    for a few seconds - I thought we were talking about the cassette deck - a Pioneer CT-F1250...Lovely !

    Well - it's a Sony...and the stuff i've had/have of theirs has proved reliable, but about as far as I go with modern digital music players is portable lossless - that I sometimes plug into an amp, I use CD mostly, Vinyl and Cassette too...but I do know digi with quality Dac can be excellent sounding, and unless something goes wrong - the ease of it...........
    So your after another one - Alto ?


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536
    Just found out that the Sony HAP S1 I put up on YouTube has been discontinued.

    If I cannot get the B2 to perform as I want it then yes I'll be after another one.

    The one I'm looking at is in the link, near enough 2,000 (Matron will go ape Sh!t) but is not a ripper, but one of the reviews says you don't have to be a computer buff to understand it, which makes it compatible to me

    https://www.richersounds.com/high-re...io-player.html

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    .

    thats a fair wedge for the sony (HAP-Z1ES) - Alto.... especially being it's going on for about 5 years old now - and you know how quickly technology moves on.....must be something more modern that can compete with it - likely for less money ?....anyway, a quality digi source of that level - next you'll be wanting a pair of B&W Nautilus to hear it through .....oh dear - matron !

    perhaps sleep on it .....?


  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    .


    Quote Originally Posted by Altobelli View Post

    I will let the B2 roll on till tomorrow and let you know what happens.






    .


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536
    Have yet to mess with it Norder, I have to be in the right frame of mind or if it goes wrong it will probably get thrown across the room

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Darkest Lancashire
    Posts
    32,066
    Quote Originally Posted by Altobelli View Post
    Just found out that the Sony HAP S1 I put up on YouTube has been discontinued.

    If I cannot get the B2 to perform as I want it then yes I'll be after another one.

    The one I'm looking at is in the link, near enough 2,000 (Matron will go ape Sh!t) but is not a ripper, but one of the reviews says you don't have to be a computer buff to understand it, which makes it compatible to me

    https://www.richersounds.com/high-re...io-player.html
    2grand on summat that plays music ..FFS ALto you want sectioning..

    The matron will cut your balls off..lol

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536
    She did that years ago Alf

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Between Zero &.......Infinity.
    Posts
    3,815
    .

    Quote Originally Posted by Altobelli View Post
    Have yet to mess with it Norder, I have to be in the right frame of mind or if it goes wrong it will probably get thrown across the room
    T-Shirt in the Post.........


  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Altobelli View Post
    Thanks Norder.

    I used to have the earlier model (JB7), I ripped all my CD's onto it (over 900), it took me nearly 2 Weeks, after doing that I found that the remote did not work, so me being me I just left it instead of ordering a new remote.

    Then I noticed Brennan brought out his 2T Brennan2, so I bought that one (again another 600), you only get a small manual guide with it (as with the previous one), but it said you needed a special lead to transfer music from your JB7 to the new B2, so I sent away for the lead, it came and it did not work, I have read the 2 links you posted and many more, it is very vague or I'm stupid (probably the latter).

    So I hand balled and ripped my whole CD Library again taking days to do so, they work perfectly and the sound is very good from the small machine and tiny speakers from the original JB7.

    The thing I am struggling with is I have a larger collection of music in my PC Library of over 1T, I have loaded a flash drive of 128G of this music from my PC and tried to import it from the flash drive onto the hard disc of the B2, It has appeared on my interface of the B2 on my PC but it will not let me play any music, my mate said it is still transferring from the flash to the hard disc on the B2 as the facia on the B2 is flashing fast with Artists, track names and Album titles from the flash drive, it has been doing this for nearly 2 days, surely it does not take this long ?

    Thanks again for the info Norder, you know I'm not technical and if you can help in laymen terms I would much appreciate it, my mate over the phone talks about it like he's reading from a book but its all gobbledygook to me.
    Hi Alto. Did you have any luck? I have an earlier JB7 and had problems with the cd mechanism, it would play and then when you eject it a little chunk of metal comes out and scratches the cd. Sent it back to Brennan they repaired it (cost me) worked for one day fine then after that same thing happened. Sent it back to Brennan again, they repaired it, worked for less than a day then same thing happened so i gave up. Just play the hard drive now! 1300 cds on it, when i made a backup it took a long time to copy. was around 30 hours as i recall!!!!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    27,536
    Hi Pinoy.

    No, No joy at all, I stopped what I thought I was doing (downloading the flash drive music to the hard drive of the B2) and took the flash drive out, went to look at my music which I'd ripped earlier onto the B2 and they had all been deleted, P!ssed me off big time.

    So I started hand balling all my CD collection again, it ripped about 20 then decided to spit the CD out when I pressed the button to Rip, left it a couple of hours and have just returned to it, it ripped 2 then again decided to spit the CD's out, will try it again tomorrow as I'm talking to myself and stomping about

    How come you had to pay for the failure of the eject ?

  19. #19
    My Brennand was out of guarantee, so I had to pay for the repair. I think the second time i sent it in I didnt get charged, but had to pay for postage. There does seem to be a problem with the cd players of these. Good luck!!

  20. #20
    FFS! All this poncing around, get one like mine...

    Name:  Music Centre.jpg
Views: 13
Size:  7.1 KB


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •