+ Visit West Bromwich Albion FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hand and Ball

Hand and Ball

Personally I think there is a distinct difference between handball and the ball hitting the hand. One entails intent to obtain an unfair advantage, the other is an accident. Like many I have seen the incident many times and read and heard Jay’s atermatch comments. Personally I do not think there was any intent but I accept others might disagree. He admitted that the ball hit his hand and not that he handled the ball. Yet I have heard and seen a lot of people saying that he has admitted handball. As far as I am aware he has said no such thing and it is irresponsible to twist the matter like this.

It’s an interesting dilemma Q buddy. I’m no expert, but understand that in addition to the “deliberate or not” question, there is an aspect relating to whether the players hand was in an ‘unnatural’ position ? That interpretation clearly down to the referee and assistants. Very subjective.

Refs take the easy option nowadays and give the foul even if the ball is drilled from a few yards onto the arm/hand. The rule is it's handball if deliberate. Commentators & punters on TV talk crap then others follow.
    I don't think, in fact I'm sure, Rodders didn't mean to handle it.

As I have stated before, the hand did strike the ball but in no way was it intentional. He put his hand to the ground to break his fall and in that motion, the ball struck it. If you read the FA rule on handball, for a free kick to be awarded it has to intentional. It wasn't and therefore the goal should have stood.

Rod is an honest chap. Decent guy, but anyone in his position in extra time at home scoring an equalizer in front of the Brummie end would have found it nigh impossible to tell the ref at the moment it happened. Could have happened to us and we would have had to just take it.