+ Visit Notts. County FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Memories of Sir Jimmy...

Memories of Sir Jimmy...

For no other reason than a sudden fit of nostalgia, probably due to what would have been his 97th birthday just passing, I was reading some of the stuff from our better times and then moved on to tributes and obituaries to Sir Jimmy. This piece by Dave McVay seemed worth sharing for those perhaps too young to have known the man's times at Meadow Lane.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/fo...-Football.html

The esteem in which our greatest manager was held was illustrated at his funeral. This is from the BBC report...

"Many big names were there to pay tribute.

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson said: "He meant a lot to me. When I was a young coach in '72 he gave me great advice way back then and was always available for advice.

"And particularly when I wasn't doing well, he'd always give you a phone call and he'd come across to a game and sit with you for hours.

"He took care in people, and time. I think that's what my lasting memory will be of the man. Fantastic."

Former football manager Lawrie McNenemy said: "Jimmy was a long-standing friend of everybody in the game, certainly of my age and when I was managing early on, Jimmy was around at Notts County."

Dave Mackay, a former player for Nottingham Forest and Derby County, said: "He was a great football manager and he'll be remembered by everybody."

Former Spurs and Leicester manager David Pleat said: "He never sought the high life, he was wonderfully dedicated. He was quirky, very funny at times, but he was totally devoted to football."

More from 'The Scotsman' here...

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/notts...s-86-1-1134751

__________________________________________________ _________________________________________________