+ Visit Rotherham United FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OT education Vs Experience

OT education Vs Experience

Seeing something about somebody being highly educated on another thread got me thinking. Do you value Education or Experience.

I would fall on the side of experience. I have a Degree in English Studies from SHU and a PGCE. Neither of these give me any benefit towards my job, they just meant that I could get the job in the first place.

I have not taught for years and now manage a contract within a college. There is no way I could do this without the experience of the life skills I got working at a Chemical Plant, Warehouse, Powder Coaters, FLT Driver et al.

Another question that intrigues me is; As a society are we educated too young and should go out and work in entry level jobs before choosing to return to education to go into a profession?

The world is changing rapidly. I don't think education is keeping up.

Good points scum. There are many a millionaire who aint got an academic qualification at all. The school of life often gives us all a good education.

....education every time.... if a Prostitute has loads of experience it usually means she get's less work....lol

Experience every time.
    Both myself and Scum work in the same industry and it’s about credibility.

Experience gives you more than any qualifications can.
    I do understand though that you need to be qualified for certain roles.

Education generally is a good filter for creating a short list - but rely solely on it at your peril. There will be diamonds among those who don't meet the educational criteria for a role.

Then again, education levels are more relevant and critical for certain career paths than others (eg accounting, law)

Experience should be the differentiating factor for choosing from the shortlist.