+ Visit Doncaster Rovers FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results

Thread: TAKEOVER BID

TAKEOVER BID

Cant the takeover happened if John Ryan appeals? the club is a mess if you ask me.

re: TAKEOVER BID

Let me try to summarise Doncaster's Rovers progress over recent years. I am not an expert, but a fan for many years so what goes on in the boardroom and changing rooms is outside my sphere of knowledge. I can only read what is in the press.

After years of virtual oblivion, John Ryan came on board in 2003 with his millions and changed the club's fortunes. With additional backing from mega-millions guys like Terry Bramhall and Dick Watson the club raced from the Conference in 2003 to the Championship in 2009. Every fan owes a lot to these 3 guys for what they did for the club.

We also had good managers like Dave Penney and Sean O'Driscoll who turned the cash into a good successful team.

All went wrong in the 2011-2012 season when 4 directors pulled out and basically took some of their cash with them after a boardroom fallout. They brought in loads of under-performing loan players that resulted in us being relegated from the Championship. Dean Saunders struggled as 19 players left

Good post to read. Can you see this takeover bid totally gone, or will Louis And John try and appeal or sort this matter out.

Thanks for the comment Juninho. Rules are rules and have to start sometime no matter how inconvenient or unpopular they may be at the time. An appeal would be unlikely to succeed which is why I don't think the board will attempt it.

The comments from Tomlinson saying that he was misled (by Ryan?) over funding suggest that he will walk away from the club or at least not trust Ryan again. Ryan keeps throwing his dummy out of the pram saying he will give up football altogether hardly looks optimistic either.