+ Visit Rotherham United FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Punched Referee shocked as on -field attacker given police caution

Punched Referee shocked as on -field attacker given police caution

As an ex Referee, I find the actions of the MET police totally unacceptable with this outcome. Apologies, but I cannot post the photo showing the wound the official received. Is there any wonder why normal working people won't sign up to officiate games nowadays. I think I read last week that the FA are down more than 20% on the previous season's uptake of new officials.

A referee who was punched in the face during an amateur match says he is shocked and disappointed after his attacker was given a police caution.Satyam Toki, 28, was left bleeding after being hit by a footballer he had sent off for foul language at a game in Acton, Ealing, on 9 August.

But the player received just a warning from police after being given a 10-year ban by the local football association.
    Toki says it sends out the wrong message about protecting officials.

Police say they issued the caution after careful consideration, but Toki believes there is an element of racial discrimination to the decision as attacks on white officials have led to assault charges and court proceedings.

"This was an unprovoked attack and I don't really know why the police have come to this decision. I was injured above my eye and my kit was covered in blood," he told BBC Sport. "I believe they haven't done their job properly. There have been incidents in the past where they have taken individuals to court.

"I didn't want to mention it but it feels like discrimination against me. If something had happened against a white official, would it have been taken more seriously?" Satyam Toki said referees often did not report assaults for fear of reprisals