+ Visit Derby County FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results

Thread: Strange but True

Strange but True

As a student I found myself studying in Birmingham and so, in addition to watching Derby, I started to go and see Birmingham City every so often as a sort of, far distant, second team.

My younger son - unfortunately an Aston Villa supporter, has spent a couple of years now at university at UEA and has developed a secondary affinity for Norwich City.

So last night was something of a celebratory evening for him as both his two teams won 6-0.

How often is that likely to happen: anyone else have second teams that have sometimes followed?

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff Parkstone View Post
    As a student I found myself studying in Birmingham and so, in addition to watching Derby, I started to go and see Birmingham City every so often as a sort of, far distant, second team.

My younger son - unfortunately an Aston Villa supporter, has spent a couple of years now at university at UEA and has developed a secondary affinity for Norwich City.

So last night was something of a celebratory evening for him as both his two teams won 6-0.

How often is that likely to happen: anyone else have second teams that have sometimes followed?
    All 'follow' rather than 'in my DNA'

(Glasgow) Rangers through Mrs F's allegiance
    Burton Albion as my 'non-league' team back in the day, neither my fault or there's they've had a level of success
    Real Mallorca, who I've popped in to see over the years and who have gone rags to riches to rags to sort-of-riches in a manner I hope Derby never do

Rangers have always been my Scottish team. Probably down to my neighbours for the first 12 years of my life being Rangers fans and family of 'Gers goalkeeper Billy Richie.

Always followed Burton Albion's results. Born there and watched the odd game as a very young kid. Also played against their reserves in my early ****s (14/15).