+ Visit Burnley FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Supporter Dies as a result of thuggery

Supporter Dies as a result of thuggery

It is totally unacceptable for a football fan to lose his life after attending a football match. I have no knowledge of the circumstances of what happened or why this happened but there is no occasion when this can be considered acceptable. I do not know who provoked whom but bottom line this is thuggery at its very worst and whoever was involved should be ashamed of themselves. I suppose I will get slated on this forum for my opinion but I stand by anything contained therein. If the person or persons are identified they should have the book thrown at them and jailed accordingly.

Hard to disagree with your reaction lancaster100, however it seems that Burnley fans had been congregating in the Manchester pub from as early as 10.00am.

If you know the location it's a ten minute walk from Bloomfield Road and a lot of Burnley fans went back post-match.

Questions to be answered:
    1). Why did door security allow them in?
    2). Where were the local constabulary?
    3). When Blackpool fans came looking for a bit of bother why did the police or door security not intervene before the fight took place?

By all accounts the chap who died was amongst the Blackpool fans who came intent on a bit of bother.

Sadly, he got it.

Quote Originally Posted by lancaster100 View Post