+ Visit Rotherham United FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Manager

The Manager

Gru sorry for the long post
    This isn’t a post saying he should go or anything silly like that, however I do think he deserves some criticism. Having listened to last nights post-match interview and some others recently, I have some observations.
    1. Language Used – He uses phrases and words that separate him from the players, it doesn’t come across as if he feels accountable. He keeps saying that they lack quality, they fail to execute, he can’t change it all at once, he has to work with what he has. These are not good phrases, remember the players will hear this. The worst players last night, 3 of them were his Leo, Hugill (never a captain) and Fosu. I get the feeling he is mentally preparing his excuses for failure, projecting blame elsewhere. I am a qualified psychologist so I do have some knowledge in this area.
    2. The Wood Situation – He has not dealt with this well. We have lost 3 quality CB’s and Wood the club captain with his passion for the club and all that experience and leadership ability can’t even make the squad!! How do you think that the players that have worked with Wood for sometime feel about that? Now obviously something went on, and MTs decision is to isolate Wood, sending his naughty son to his bedroom. For MT not to deal with it and manage the situation so he doesn’t loose Wood from his plans is a failure as a manager. You cannot tell me that having Woody on that pitch last night driving them and motivating them wouldn’t be a benefit. Peltier tries but he is no leader and no CB either. I am not saying Wood is the saviour but I am saying his treatment is harsh and the team suffer with him not been involved.