+ Visit Derby County FC Mad for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: O/T Mr. Bates v The Post Office.

O/T Mr. Bates v The Post Office.

Well somebody had to...and it’s a quiet week football wise.

As the country wallows in, totally justified, righteous indignation following ITV’s excellent aforementioned drama I’m just wondering if the more knowledgeable ‘accountancy minded’ amongst us - GP, AF and possibly Swale - can throw any light on how this situation can have been allowed to develop in quite the way it has.

I have some experience of taking on institutionalised corruption, albeit at a much smaller level, and know how hard it can be to overcome the self protecting obstacles that the establishment rapidly erects. This however appears to be at a whole new level and I’m struggling to understand how such an organisation, with its system of checks and balances, could possibly have believed they’d get away with it. More to the point...who has actually benefited and what outcome should we now be aiming for?

Thoughts?

1. Quash all convictions immediately with a caveat that, should it transpire that a couple of them actually did "behave badly", they can still be brought to "justice".

2. Repayment of all losses. That includes the amount they were forced to reimburse, losses of income, loss of future prospects of earnings, loss of family (divorce, suicide etc), reparation for jail time, wrong convictions, loss of houses and businesses, defamation and a whole host of other things. All indexed over the years to account for inflation. I would include children of Postmasters who have also been harmed in this affair.